Sleek Makeup Matte Me: A Review

Claims: Matte Me is a matte finish liquid lipstick that glides on in one smooth application, with no need for a second coat. The light as air texture provides you with comfortable wear for hours, that doesn’t cake, flake or dry out, ensuring long lasting colour all day.
Ingredients:
(For Birthday Suit) Isododecane, Mica, Octyldodecanol, Hydrogenated Styrene/Isoprene Copolymer, Stearalkonium Hectorite, Alcohol, Dicalcium Phosphate, Aqua (Water), Pentaerythrityl Tetra-di-t-butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Tin Oxide, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 77492 (Iron Oxides), CI 77491 (Iron Oxides), CI 15850 (Red 7), CI 15850 (Red 6), CI 42090 (Blue 1)
(For Velvet Slipper and Fired Up) Silica, Bentonite, Isododecane, Cyclomethicone, Polycyclopentadiene, BIS-Diglyceryl, Polyacyladipate-2, Trifluoropropyldimethyl/Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Tocopherol, Phenoxyethanol, MAY CONTAIN: CI 77891, CI 42090, CI 15850, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 19140, CI 45410
[ source ]

Liquid lipsticks has all been the rage for a couple of years now. Sleek Makeup [ PH Facebook | PH Instagram ] was having a sale late last year, in conjunction with SM’s mall-wide sale. I also remember coming to SM from a very bad haircut so it was a bad combination for my credit card. I sad-shopped my way around the cosmetic section of the SM Store and hauled a bit from Sleek’s counter.

Matte Me had been going around the social media circuit as a perfect dupe for the Kylie lipkits. I haven’t owned a matte liquid lipstick so I was especially looking forward to trying this out. I think each tube was at PHP450 for 6ml of product.

The shades pictured are (top to bottom) Birthday Suit, Velvet Slipper, and Fired Up. I think these are a perfect selection for me: a nude, a dark plum-y shade, and a deep red.

File_001(2)
Swatches in natural light.

[Please forgive me at my attempts to describe the colors of the product shades, I’m not very good.]

Birthday Suit is a nice rosy nude. I like this best as I can wear the color regularly. Application is smooth and not patchy. I still get traces left on my cup when I’m drinking but it doesn’t really subtract from the overall color. I feel like this is not as drying as the other shades, too. As with most matte liquid lipsticks, lines will be pronounced with this product, so just make sure to prep and moisturize before and after application.

I give Birthday Suit an 8/10.

Velvet Slipper is a deep plum, which looks darker on me than the swatches I can find on Google. But I find that I really like this color on me, I just can’t wear it as much as a more neutral shade. Application is also smooth and not patchy, unless I try to layer it. I was wondering why this shade would dry me out much more than Birthday Suit, but looking at the ingredient list now, it has bentonite, a clay that sucks the life (oil and moisture) out of your skin. So as much as I love the color, I don’t like wearing this as much lest I suffer flaky lips for the next couple of days.

I give Velvet Slipper a 7/10.

Fired Up is a deep true red for me. I find that this can become patchy fast if I am not careful with application. I use this very sparingly in everyday life, but I love using this in special events. I have the same drying issued with this as with Velvet Slipper.

I give Fired up a 7/10.

I also have Old Hollywood, but I don’t like wearing it that much. I might even give it away because it patches like nobody’s business. It also looks very similar to Fired Up when I wear it, so I don’t see any use for me keeping this shade.

I give Old Hollywood a 5/10.
4 thoughts on “Sleek Makeup Matte Me: A Review

  1. I have been eyeing Birthday Suit for months! This post might just do it for me. That looks like a really amazing color everyday wear. It actually reminds me of MAC’s Mehr which I remember wearing for months and months.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I highly recommend this shade. I have my eye on a couple more of their nude shades (Shabby Chic and Bittersweet) but I’m kind of over the drying feeling for everyday.

      Like

Leave a Reply

