Movies I Watch: Over and over.

I’ve always found it hard whenever someone asked me what my favorite movie is so I’ve broken it down to four categories. The first one that I will write about today are the movies that I could (and do) watch over and over without tiring of them. If I can’t decide on a movie to watch, one of these will most definitely come on.

Fair warning: I would mention “my boyfriend and I” a few times in this post because we almost always watch these movies together.

What’s Your Number (2011) [IMDB]

whats-your-number-movie-poster

A woman looks back at the past nineteen men she’s had relationships with in her life and wonders if one of them might be her one true love.

I’ve always liked Anna Faris in her acting roles. I don’t know her personally, and her podcast might not be the best way to judge her character, but I feel like she would be a good friend, down-to-earth and very funny. This movie also stars a bunch of people who would later hit it really big (Chris Evans, Faris’ husband Chris Pratt, Martin Freeman, Anthony Mackie, etc.), and it’s just amusing to me to see them in these silly roles.

I don’t feel like this is spoiling anything because they’re the lead, but while I thought Evans and Faris have great chemistry on-screen, it felt like they were just very good friends, which they might be in real life. There was no sexual tension or sexual chemistry or whatever the hell but that was fine with me. This is a fun movie and I want to be Anna Faris’ best friend.

Guardians of the Galaxy (2014) [IMDB]

GotG poster

A group of intergalactic criminals are forced to work together to stop a fanatical warrior from taking control of the universe.

My boyfriend and I are suckers for the Marvel Cinematic Universe (as well as Marvel Netflix and Marvel Television), and we would watch MCU movies many times over but this one takes the cake. We have known Chris Pratt from Park and Recreation (a great tv show) and we loved how he transformed from this fat, lovable idiot to a rugged, also lovable, less-of-an-idiot in Guardians.

The Intern (2015) [IMDB]

bp6osidnu0vroc5gpoc0g1umqm1

70-year-old widower Ben Whittaker has discovered that retirement isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. Seizing an opportunity to get back in the game, he becomes a senior intern at an online fashion site, founded and run by Jules Ostin.

I don’t know what it is about this movie that instantly picks me up. Maybe it’s because a duo of opposite genders that get to know each other, grow to respect each other, and learn from each other, without any weird romantic intent by either of them.

La La Land (2016) [IMDB]

1

A jazz pianist falls for an aspiring actress in Los Angeles.

This movie breaks my heart, one of my greatest fears in movie form. A Lovely Night and City of Stars is going on my wedding playlist, Ryan Gosling is great, Emma Stone is great, their relationship is sweet and it destroyed me.

Howl’s Moving Castle (2004) [IMDB]

howlsmovingcastle

When an unconfident young woman is cursed with an old body by a spiteful witch, her only chance of breaking the spell lies with a self-indulgent yet insecure young wizard and his companions in his legged, walking castle.

My boyfriend and I love this movie. We often say, “Don’t you want some bacon and eggs?”, whenever we are preparing breakfast or out grocery shopping. Or “Oh! My shawl!,” whenever something gets blown away by a gust of wind. Yes we watch the English dub because it’s easier.

This might not be Hayao Miyazaki’s or Studio Ghibli’s best, but it is very close to my heart. Howl finds some meaning in his life, Sophie gains self-confidence, Markl can now eat properly, and Calcifer is forever in our hearts.

One thought on “Movies I Watch: Over and over.

Leave a Reply

