Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency: Season 1 Review

This review may contain spoilers. From the Netflix synopsis:

Eccentric amateur sleuth Dirk and his grudging assistant Todd make their way haphazardly through a peculiarly tangled, dangerous supernatural mystery.

dirk gently poster
It’s all connected.

This show has been showing up on my Netflix homepage for a while now and my eye has been drawn to it every time because of the bright yellow jacket and Elijah Wood. I haven’t read the source material, and I haven’t consumed any other adaptation. I also decided against reading anything online about the show and just went in with the synopsis and the (high) rating it had. I was thinking maybe this show will be a good enough time while I wait for Iron Fist to come out.

Oh boy, I was in for a surprise.

The series started out slow and there was so much going on I could barely keep up.  A murder, a missing child, a sick sibling, an assassin, and a kitten and a corgi. I kept wondering how in the world everything would be wrapped up neatly by the end with so much seemingly unrelated strings strewn about. It takes a few episodes to set things up, but once everything’s in place, plot lines can start to pay off.

From the get-go, I love the would-be pair of Bart (Fiona Dourif) and Ken (Mpho Koaho). Also, Bart’s voice can’t be good for the throat.

Bart: Why didn’t you just say, “I’m not Dirk Gently”?

Ken: Because I don’t know who that is!

Todd Brotzman (Elijah Wood) is the straight-man foil for Dirk Gently’s (Samuel Barnett) insane ideas and mannerisms, I think they work well together. I have such soft spot for Harry Potter.

The two detectives working the Lydia Spring case, who got mixed into Dirk and Todd’s whole mess, weren’t bumbling idiots. Types which you would expect in a show like this, and I hoped they would carry on to the second season.

The writing was really witty in some places, but I found I only laughed out loud in real life when I could understand what was going on. The ending also set up nicely for the second season, and I am glad that it was renewed.

The story as it wraps up doesn’t make sense when you try to nitpick it, so just put on your fun hat and enjoy Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency as what it is, an enjoyable sci-fi show with weird, but well-acted, characters and equally insane plotlines.


Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency: Season 1

8/10 would recommend

 

Leave a Reply

