Being an adult: A series.

When I was younger, I thought I’d have my life together by now.

I’d be earning so much money, living in a condo in the city, and planning to be married by 26, so I can have my first child by 27. I had all these goals but I had no actual plan. I was just winging it. 

Present day. I have a job I love, but it’s not something that pays a lot. The career path I chose doesn’t generally paved with the big bucks. I don’t own a condo, and I don’t really want to anymore. I am in a long-term relationship and we do intend to get married, but not in the next couple of years. And I am in no way ready for a child.

Being an adult is so much different than I imagined. I thought I’d be this person so sure of myself and my choices, but yet here I am, fumbling about, making things up as I go along. This makes me appreciate a lot of other adults, they do a good job of keeping it together most of the time. I like to think that we are all just winging it. 

This series will be a log of me winging it in different aspects of my life as I go through adulthood. Because no matter how much we want to be the Leslie Knopes of the world with our meticulously curated and color-coded binders, deep down inside we are all April Ludgates counting on our gut feeling to lead us into hopefully good decisions. 

Leave a Reply

