I bought a menstrual cup.

I’ve used pads all my life. I tried out a box of tampons when I saw them being sold in a Watson’s, but pads are what’s readily available in stores.

Pads worked just fine, they did the job. The waste made me uneasy, though. And even if I blazed through overnight pads the first two days of my cycle, the last few days of my period would barely use up a regular pad and it broke my heart to throw them away barely used. Tampons made me a little nervous because I couldn’t be sure if it was soaked or if I’ll be wasting a barely used tampon by taking it out prematurely. I couldn’t exactly put the thing back in, that would be gross.

Menstrual cups have piqued my curiosity ever since I’ve read about them online. Sure the initial expense is steep compared to pads, but I could use the cup for a few years if I took care of them properly. When I found out about a locally available cup, Sinaya [website | facebook], I made my purchase.

As of writing, I have only been able to use it once. The cup arrived two days after my period started so I haven’t been able to test the capacity on my heavier days. I boiled (sterilized) it for safety before first use and consumed a bunch of Youtube videos again on proper insertion. I decided on the basic C fold and just put the damn thing in. It sat low so I think I have to trim the stem.

I put it in at about 8PM, right before bed, used a regular pad just to make sure I don’t leak all over the bed in case I put it in wrong, took it out at around 5AM. I struggled for a bit the first time I took it out, but it got easier the following days. Rinsed it out with water and put it in again for the work day.

I REALLY LIKE:

  • No waste
  • Convenience, occupies a small space in my bag
  • No sweaty gross feeling in the crotch area, especially that summer is upon us

I DON’T REALLY LIKE:

  • I haven’t gotten to experience this yet, but I would imagine that it would be quite difficult trying to empty this out during heavier flow days at work. I have to hobble to the sink without getting period blood on my pants and the floor. Will update on this.

I’m really pumped to have the cup, you guys. It’s a gamechanger and I would recommend it.

2 thoughts on “I bought a menstrual cup.

  1. “…the last few days of my period would barely use up a regular pad and it broke my heart to throw them away barely used. Tampons made me a little nervous because I couldn’t be sure if it was soaked or if I’ll be wasting a barely used tampon by taking it out prematurely.” — i can really relate to this. Yay for zero waste periods! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

